

White River Valley Electric Cooperative News Release

Contact:

Cassie Cunningham, Communications Coordinator 417.849.1148 (cell); 417.335.9231 (office) ccunningham@whiteriver.org

For immediate release: May 8, 2017

Missouri's rural electric leaders head to Washington on behalf of consumermembers

Branson, Missouri – Making sure that our elected leaders keep electric cooperatives in mind when crafting laws and regulations that impact its members was a key focus of the 2,100 electric cooperative leaders who descended on Washington, D.C., April 24-26, 2017, for a legislative conference sponsored by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. Representatives from more than 900-plus electric cooperatives nationwide visited Capitol Hill offices during the conference to discuss a wide range of issues, including energy efficiency, extending tax credits for geothermal heat pumps, among other topics of importance to rural communities.

Rod Romine, chief operating officer, and Cy Murray, manager of economic and community development, White River Valley Electric Cooperative, Branson, were part of a 55-strong group of rural electric leaders from Missouri who took part in the annual legislative rally.

"It's important that we meet with our elected officials or key staffers while our delegation is in Washington, D.C. so they hear our message on subjects of importance to Missouri's rural electric cooperative members," said Barry Hart, executive vice president of the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives, Jefferson City.

The Missouri group met with Sen. Roy Blunt and Sen. Claire McCaskill as well U.S. representatives Jason Smith, Vicky Hartzler, Billy Long, Blaine Luetkemeyer and Ann Wagner, as well as key staffers of Sam Graves and Emanuel Cleaver. The cooperative leaders found a welcome reception and strong support from the entire Missouri leadership.

###

White River Valley Electric Cooperative is a <u>Touchstone Energy Cooperative</u> dedicated to ensuring our members receive safe and reliable service in their homes and businesses across five southwest Missouri counties including Ozark, Taney, Stone, Christian and Douglas.