Skip to content

Over $85,000 in Power Up Grants awarded to local teachers

White River Valley Electric Trust Board awards a total of $85,489.61 to 2020-2021 Power Up recipients.

White River Valley Electric Trust Board awards a total of $85,489.61 to 2020-2021 Power Up recipients.

Branson, Missouri 

The White River Valley Electric Trust Board proudly awarded over $85,000 to be dispersed throughout local schools to enhance the education of area students. Teachers located at schools within White River Valley Electric Cooperative’s five-county service were eligible to apply for monies through Power Up — the organization’s annual educational grant program.

“Projects that utilize funding from Power Up have a positive impact on classrooms in our communities,” said Nathan Stearns, WRVEC Community Programs Coordinator. “We are proud to offer a grant program that aids teachers in providing a well-rounded education to area students.”

To be considered, proposals need to promote higher learning and meet school standards. Teachers are required to submit their plan, itemized list of supplies (not to exceed $750), and a letter of project approval from the school district’s administrative office. Out of 184 applications, 135 were approved.

“This was our most competitive year to date,” said Stearns. “We would like to congratulate the winners and hope that increased competition will drive innovation and student influence.”

Power Up educational grants are funded through Operation Round Up – the Trust’s primary funding source for community-centric aid. Funds come from cooperative members who allow their bills to be rounded-up to the next dollar. Since ORU began 28 years ago, more than $4 million has been returned to the community.

View the full list of Power Up educational grant recipients at

Teacher School District
Kendra Shelton Ava
Katherine Pierson Ava
Renee Stillings Ava
Kimberly Woods Ava
Becky Williams Bradleyville
Susan Mooney Bradleyville
Tracy Wilson Bradleyville
Nick Norwine Bradleyville
Reggie Roepke Bradleyville
Mrs. Kathy Braden Bradleyville
Carol Szabo Bradleyville
Chris Sprague Bradleyville
Amanda Carnal Bradleyville
Melinda Rogers Bradleyville
Melanie Sims Bradleyville
Kelly M. Michael Bradleyville
Sheila Thomas Bradleyville
Gina Swift Bradleyville
Nikki Combs Bradleyville
Lori Storment Bradleyville
Lisa Taylor Bradleyville
Echo Combs Bradleyville
Tracey Shipley Bradleyville
Kerri Hampton Bradleyville
Nichole Hunsaker Bradleyville
Claudia Hodges Bradleyville
Sara Blair Bradleyville
Liska Simmons Bradleyville
Breken Leonard Branson
Jamie Moore Branson
Melissa Harris Branson
Suzie Thomason Branson
Jaynee Beaty Chadwick
Michael Payne Chadwick
Rebecca Thompson Chadwick
Amy Lyerla Forsyth
Angie Deeter Forsyth
Dusty Neill Forsyth
Alex Ellison Forsyth
Amanda G Brown Forsyth
Lisa Tilley Forsyth
Mark W Woody Forsyth
Michele Strain Gainesville
Sheila Thomas Gainesville
Rebecca Massey Gainesville
Haley Cooper Gainesville
Monica Loschen Gainesville
Heidi Gaulding Gainesville
Sheryl Lawson Gainesville
Rachel Hogan Gainesville
Alison Decker Gainesville
April Luna Gainesville
Tracie Wilson Galena
Johnna Rice Galena
Mary Pierce Hollister
Peter Schiefelbein Hollister
Tiffany Buttram Hollister
Shawn Loftis Hollister
Logan Taylor Hollister
Traci Critser Hollister
Taylor Roberts Hollister
Quaid Taylor Hollister
Rebecca A. Stephenson Hollister
Marta Nangle Hollister
Beth Taylor Hollister
Patricia Turner Kirbyville
Phyllis Brixey Kirbyville
Joan Edgmon Kirbyville
Rebekah Dunnam Legacy Academy
Kelly Garrison Legacy Academy
Lakelynn Vaught Lutie
Megan Elliott Lutie
Lois Honeycutt Lutie
Yaffah Lewis Lutie
Misty Souder Lutie
Tara Lininger Lutie
Buck Comstock Lutie
Constance Wood Lutie
Steve Silvey Lutie
Rebecca E. Scott Lutie
Sandra Woody Lutie
Timothy Lewis Lutie
Brenda Johnston Lutie
Sheri Lubbers Lutie
Kathalee Cole Lutie
Shelia  Sullivan Lutie
Maggie Miller Lutie
Randi Hubbard Mark Twain
Shannon Jennings Mark Twain
Ally Clemans Mark Twain
Emily Todd Mark Twain
Ashley Comstock Mark Twain
Lyndee Hawken Ozark
Donna Lillard Ozark
Katherine Morrison Ozark
Julie Doerr Ozark
Brooke McHaffie Plainview School
Stacy Cooper Plainview School
Cindy Hailey Plainview School
Christa Ball Reeds Spring
Amy Moler Reeds Spring
Charlie Burk Reeds Spring
Adria Simkins Reeds Spring
Ashley Kohl Reeds Spring
Jennifer Mitchell Reeds Spring
Matthew Locke Reeds Spring
Jennifer Bookhout Reeds Spring
Erin Bentley Reeds Spring
Megan Jenkins-Smith Reeds Spring
Heather Sargent Reeds Spring
Tricia Weydert Reeds Spring
Haleigh Brown Sparta
Emily Morris Sparta
Ozie Eaton Sparta
Samantha Gailey Sparta
Nicole Humble Sparta
Kaycey Jones Sparta
Rachel Fisher Sparta
Erin Coulter Sparta
Mary Hepler Spokane
Carlie Hall Spokane
Marissa Kyser Spokane
Michael Lewis Spokane
Laken Walden Spokane
Kim Jordan Spokane
Nancy Kubel Spokane
Lisa Pitts Spokane
Amanda Fischer Spokane
Marshana Broyles Taneyville School
Paig Herd Taneyville School
Christy Cox Thornfield
Dawn Sims Thornfield
Jana Lumb Thornfield
Sarah Overcast Thornfield





# # #

White River Valley Electric Cooperative is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative dedicated to ensuring our members receive safe and reliable service in their homes and businesses across five southwest Missouri counties including Ozark, Taney, Stone, Christian and Douglas.